Halloween Horror Nights 2016

This year I was wrapped into Halloween Horror Nights 26. Dear Lord what was I thinking? Through a series of fortunate and unfortunate events I was brought along to HHN. I for one am not keen on being scared in any way, shape, or form. Then why on God’s green Earth would you go to an event where they aim to scare you? It. Was. Free.

My dear best friend Sarah in all her magical fairy powers procured tickets and express passes to Island of Adventure, Universal, AND HHN. Of course my happy little self went along. (On the real, why do you even go if you don’t have express passes?)

The Island of Adventure and Universal portion flew by, but the anxiety of what would come with the night kept creeping up my spine. Throughout the day I would contemplate whether I was going to stay or not. Preschool style. Like when you’re at your first slumber party and you’re deciding if your dad is going to pick you up at midnight. Except my “dad” was my husband.

Through a series of peer pressure and promised fun I was convinced to stay. The only two things that kept me there was seeing old friends and seeing an amazing dance team called Academy of Villains. Academy of Villains was absolutely amazing. They had so much energy and performance value throughout all FIVE shows. As a fellow dancer I salute you.  You can see their performance here.

photo-1
Academy of Villains, House of Fear

Mind you, before this experience I had never been inside a haunted house EVER. I managed The Walking Dead, Tomb of the Ancients, Krampus (which was lame, I kept singing “Actual Cannibal Shia LeBeouf. If you experience this house, you know why.), and Ghost Town. With each house it became easier and easier to walk through. However, I was clutching on to my friends jacket sleeve so hard and was so tense that I soaked through his sleeve with MY sweat. Lawd.

Now I’m a firm believer in being careful what you expose yourself to. I have never been fond of the idea of purposefully inducing fear. Although I don’t think I’ll go back to HHN for a long while I understood for the first time why people do this. Adrenaline pumps, you bond with your friends, and you make really great memories. Would I ever pay to do this? Hail-to-the-naw. Did I go into the Exorcist house? I certainly didn’t  (get behind me Satan). I’m really happy with the memories I made with my beloved friends. At the end of the day they’re just actors in costumes looking to get a good spook out of someone.

Do you like getting spooked? Would you pay for it?

photo-2
The end of the night at HHN26
3 Comments Add yours

  1. fromdreamtoplan says:

    Hi! Happy to have found your blog! I love the layout, the style the content…everything! I’ve read some of your posts and I can’t wait to read more! Looking forward to following you 🙂

    Lisa | http://www.fromdreamtoplan.net/

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my posts! I’ll have to pop by your blog as well!

      Like

      1. fromdreamtoplan says:

        My pleasure! Oh thank you! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

