5 Tips for Finding Your Muse and Keeping it

For the past year and a half I have been avidly pursuing my novel. It’s been my baby, and I have tried to consistently capture my muse. So I figured I’d take some time to give some tips.

  1. Get Your Butt Up- Sounds simple enough right? Get your butt up. I’ve struggled with rising before noon, but let me tell you there is so much work that can be finished before twelve. An easy way to start this habit is to incentivize your wake up time. Reward yourself with your favorite thing or something special you like. Making a specific appointment for your work helps you to keep goals and organize it into tangible victories.
  2. Get Inspired- Go out and break up the monotony! I find my muse appears easily if I have fresh inspiration. Try going for a scenic walk, museum viewing, or try something out of your comfort zone. Be creative and pick something you wouldn’t typically think of.
  3. Surround Yourself- Surround yourself with people with passion AND focus. We become the people we spend time with. Be sure to keep people close to you that share similar vision and passion. The only downside to this is if both of you get distracted the train of focus will completely derail so be cautious.
  4. Change the Scene- If working in the same old studio, office space, bedroom is getting old be sure to change it up. Life is too colorful to stay cooped up in one room. Changing your scenery will help freshen up and add life to your work. Perhaps you will even seen some inspiring things while you’re out.
  5. Chase the Muse- Of course you set your appointments to create, but if the muse strikes be sure to chase it. Perhaps you allotted yourself an hour for creative work, but now you’re crazed with inspiration. Chase it. It’s good to strike while the iron is hot. Don’t put a limit on yourself when you have the creative juices flowing.

The main thing is make time, find inspiration, surround yourself with like-minded people, change your surroundings, and keep on hustling. Make every day count INCLUDING Monday! For all my self-aspiring authors out there: I’ll see you on the New York Time’s Best Sellers list!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. fromdreamtoplan says:

    Hi Sierra! Hope you’ll be pleased to know that since I really enjoyed this post and cited it here http://www.fromdreamtoplan.net/2016/11/20/sunday-suggestions-9/ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

