5 Tips for Roadtrips

Hey everyone!
Last week I covered  Skinny Privileges a “real life” topic but this week I’m back to my travel bug! From October 2016 to December 2016 my husband and I were taking mini roadtrips from Orlando to West Palm Beach, to Tampa, to Atlanta and back! We were gone almost every single weekend.

It was wonderful and tiring but here are some solid tips I picked up from racing around. Enjoy!

1.Bring a Pillow and Blanket
As silly as it seems it’s defintely important. I bring them even if it’s just for a day trip. I’m grateful for my dear husband who drives 99.99% of the time and lets me snuggle in a cacoon. Simple comforts like this make the drive a lot easier and more comfortable. Bump those week neck pillows.

2. Buy All the Snacks!
My life pretty much revolves around food. Because I am in love with it. That being said I often get caught up in the gas station paying their exorbitant prices. I suggest you go to your store of choice and buy all the snacks! Every last chip, candy, and soda you can think of. This cuts down on your need to stop and waste money. Besides if I can buy a large bag of chips for $3 instead of $6 then I’m there!

3. Google Map EVERYTHING
Often times we use Google Maps to get from A to B BUT if you use Google Maps online it will show you traffic from your selected departure time. So let’s say you want to check how long it’s going to take to arrive at your destination if you leave at 9am (when it’s currently midnight). All you have to do is choose a departure time and your destination! This literally blew my mind. This tool is extremely helpful if you’re trying to get the heck out of Orlando while avoiding I-4 (curse you I-4!!!)

4. Tolls Do Not Mean Faster
I thought for a long time that toll roads were always the faster route because that’s what you’re paying for. Nicer, cleaner, faster routes. This is surprisngly not true (in some cases). There have been several times when I change options to see both toll and free routes and sometimes the free routes are faster and more direct. Ha-ha not today money grabbing schemers! Not today.

5. Gas Calculator
If you are on a budget like me then you probably want to know how much everything is going to cost. I often plot out my trip online with a gas calculator. I love doing this because I don’t have to guess how much I need to spend on gas. This makes it a lot easier for me to budget the rest of my trip. Gas money ain’t no joke nowadays.

What are some of your roadtrip tips? Let me know in the comments and don’t forget to like!

Leave a Reply

